The Power of Music

Currently I’m listening to Time to Say Goodbye (the Season 2 Opening Theme for the anime RWBY) by Jeff & Casey Williams, and it reminded me just how influential and invigorating music can be.

Time and time again, I’m reminded of how music has shaped my life. 

Man of Determination by George Lam inspired me to be the best I could be as a child. Imagining myself as a hero with justice in my blood and “training” every day to be like Uzumaki Naruto was a passion. (Training was running up a tree as high and as few steps as possible.)

TryHardNinja’s cover of Too Close (originally by Alex Clare) inspired me to try my hand at singing, a choice I’ve never regretted since. Every day I sing at least five different songs, and each time I sing is such a catharsis.

Anime themes like Reluctant Heroes from Attack on Titan, The Hero from One Punch Man, Crossing Fields from Sword Art Online, and…of course, Time to Say Goodbye from RWBY, have returned joy of imagination into my life. Reliving the action hero days of my childhood helps me forgive my insolence as a kid.

And let’s not forget to mention μ’s, both the fictional characters from Love Live! School Idol Project, and the nine 声優 [seiyū = voice actor/actress] who voice those nine characters (and are just ❤️💙💚💛💜 vocally and personality-wise). Their songs reinvigorated the vibrancy of forming strong friendships and lasting memories after breaking up with my ex. More on that in another blog, perhaps.

Music, as much as this doesn’t apply to EVERYONE, has been so useful in getting me through the tough times. But it’s just as effective when it comes to putting you in a bad mood even at the best of times.

As much as I hate to say it, music can be dangerous.

Songs like Man of Determination are great when you want to aspire to be strong, but it’s dangerous listening to this when you want to punch someone in the face (a lesson learned from a friend’s martial arts manual).

Likewise, songs can bring you down and remind you of quite terrible moments in your life.

Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri made me think about how my ex girlfriend felt about having to deal with my depression, my cultural differences, and my horrible reaction to her deciding to leave me for good after giving her a few days to think things through. (God, what a horrible over-reaction THAT was!)

Never Forget, a soundtrack from the Halo franchise, is a soundtrack I always attribute to respecting the fallen and then rising like phoenixes from their ashes. I am reminded of all the people I (and the people around me) have lost in my near-18 years of life, as well as those who sacrificed their lives to protect and defend the weak and needy (e.g.: the South Vietnamese, American and Australian soldiers who placed their lives on the line in order to slow the corruption of the Communist ideals of the North Vietnamese).

Even μ’s songs like 僕たちはひとつの光 (Bokutachi wa Hitotsu no Hikari = We Are A Single Light) and さようならへさよなら (Sayounara [h]e Sayonara = Farewell to Farewells), which carry a trivial significance as the End of the μ’s Era, are quite devastating for me, because I never want the happiness and catharsis of music and singing to ever be forgotten. Please read the lyrics to Bokutachi wa Hitotsu no Hikari and Sayounara [h]e Sayonara here.

Even so, music and singing are quite beautiful media to express your emotions, feelings, thoughts, and beliefs. God, if I could compile an album of music to represent my life, there are so many songs I wouldn’t know where to begin…literally, my music library would be thousands of songs long. I cannot express my gratitude and deepest appreciation to all artists, whether they are musicians, visual artists, poets, theatricians, movie directors…ALL OF THEM!!!

To all artists: Cảm ơn nhiều! ありがとうございます!Thank you so much!
And thank YOU for reading! Please like and share if you want, and definitely subscribe for more (top right of the page)!
and D.F.T.B.A.!
Don’t forget to subscribe with the prompt on the top-right of the page, or the Follow+ button near the bottom of the scroll bar. ————->
4 thoughts on “The Power of Music

  1. Okay, I love the colourful hearts. Was this a string of iOS emojis?
    And I love love love the songs you’ve linked me to. While I’ve superficially gone through them, I’ll definitely reconsider listening to them carefully soon ❤ ❤
    ps: jar of hearts ❤
    pps: be sure to link your WordPress blog to your FB page, so that every post is automatically updated there 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Music really does have a profound effect on people’s lives, and it certainly did on me.
    Although my tastes have changed significantly over the years, they all left their mark on me, and I’m often grateful for their influence.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment so I don't feel lonely...

