Veracity

Welcome to the final installment of the Seven Principles of Bioethics series. For those who decided to skip the previous six installments, please read through them… I just can’t understand people who don’t bother to read through from start to finish. Autonomy, BenevolenceNon-Maleficence, Justice, Confidentiality, and Fidelity are the previous ones, and I do suggest that you read through them IN ORDER…but up to you.

Veracity

Veracity in this context means to be truthful without omission or deception. To be veracious is…quite difficult when you hardly trust other people to begin with. Being someone who grew up with refugee parents, they are very distrustful of everyone…even my own family. I’ll be honest, I’m not a big fan of my family because I just…dislike all the speculation. If there’s no legally binding paper, then I’m not doing or saying anything to denounce either side of the family. It just sucks, if I’m to be bluntly honest.

This makes it difficult for me to talk to people; more so to make deep and meaningful friendships that aren’t tumultuous and prone to my unstable emotional tendencies. I’m the kind of person who decided to develop sensitivity towards others, in a time when my parents wanted me to be a hardened warrior who cares about only a select few, and not about the macroscopic view of wider society, or the world.

On a different note, people can have blind faith in the unknown, biased faith in family relatives…whatever it is, we have heuristics – shortcuts to help us make decisions, whether it’s about where to find that one elusive item on a shopping list, how to find your friends in a crowd of people, or how you decide on what occupation you want to pursue. This applies to the logic of being truthful, and – to be honest – the same goes for the other six principles I’ve discussed.

We always think that we know the truth, that we know what is autonomy, benevolence, non-maleficence and the rest are. But in all honesty, we tend to just assume we do, in hopes that what will be mentioned – in relation to those concepts – will trigger a more concise definition. Furthermore, we tend to allow ourselves the liberty of glossing over the details, because who needs to worry about whether there’s a spider with 7 legs or 8 legs if it’s sitting there…teasing you with its stand-still nature, waiting for you to panic before it attacks (I’m kidding, obviously).

But yeah, that’s it for me. I’ve put in my ten cents on the discussion of the Seven Principles of Bioethics. I actually did a post a day! That’s an achievement for me. Thank you, dear reader, for sticking to the end. Or, if you have just joined at the end of this mini series, please make sure you take a look at the previous six posts, linked at the start of the post.

And as always, DFTBA!

Leave a comment so I don't feel lonely...

